This week I’m loving … Pixengo

 ” Take a picture, record a voice message and share it together as a ‘pixengo’ in seconds… right from your iphone or ipod.” ref: http://pixengo.com/

A couple of weeks ago I saw a tweet from Paul O’Mahony in which he mentioned an app called Pixengo, which is a free app for the iPhone, iPad and iPod.  I liked the look of the example Pixengo that Paul included in his tweet so I thought I’d give it a try.  The idea is to take a picture and then add audio of up to 30 seconds so I thought it would be perfect for the group in the advanced Scratch room at the Limerick Coder Dojo.  I got a chance to try it out last Saturday and it worked a treat.   Once the app is downloaded you can create pixengos using either the camera or a picture from the camera roll.  There is a photo editor which I haven’t used yet, which allows you to apply effects, change the orientation etc.  Once you’re happy with the picture you can then record the audio, which can be rerecorded if necessary.

So on Saturday I spent a while taking photos of the children’s screens, showing their Scratch games, and getting them to tell me what their games were about.  You can share the Pixengos using email, Facebook or Twitter.  I decided to create a list on list.ly with links to the pixengos and so far the list has had almost 200 views.  Have a look at the list here.

I think Pixengo would be a very useful app in a school to get children to talk about their art or some photos from a school tour and this is something I’m hoping to try out next week with my sister and her first class group.

Leave a Reply

