It’s been a year and I’m still here …

One year ago today I wrote my first blog post and so began a journey that I’m really enjoying.  For someone who didn’t regard herself as a writer, I have been bowled over by how much I’ve enjoyed writing my posts and how much of me has come through in the blog.  It’s been a bit neglected at times as other things have taken precedence, but I’ve come back to it every time.

My first post set out my resolutions as I started into a new academic year this time last year.  Some I achieved and some I didn’t, but I’m on the case of those I didn’t so watch this space for future blog posts about screencasting and pencasting.

The most popular posts over the year have been

1. Isn’t it ironic

2. Time to say goodbye

3. I was never good at Maths

The top two have a lot to do with the choice of title, which also happen to be names of popular songs, so that might be a tip to drive views on your blog 🙂  I found this out by chance!

The post that took me by surprise most was a very personal one that I never envisaged writing but somehow it seemed to make sense to write.  This post about my dad that I wrote back in February changed how I viewed the blog.  Up to then I saw the blog as more of  a professional blog but over the past few months the lines have become blurred and I’m ok with that.  I’m looking forward to continuing with the blog over the coming months and years.

7 responses to “It’s been a year and I’m still here …

  1. Happy blog-birthday, Pam… it’s hard to remember you without your blog now! Your writing has touched me many times, and I’ve probably wanted to comment as many times as I’ve actually written one. So, thank you — for your writing, for the parts of “you” that you share, and for the inspiration to keep writing. I’m happily looking forward to your future posts already! 🙂

  2. Congratulations Pam, hard to believe it’s a year already. Have really enjoyed reading your posts & look forward to reading lots more 🙂

  3. Catherine, Mags, Mary Jo,
    Thanks for the kind words and good wishes. The fact that I’m still blogging a year down the line is in no small part due to the encouragement I’ve gotten from yourselves and others during the year
    Pam.

    • Thanks Triona,
      Like yourself I like the added depth that comes from meeting in person, people you know virtually. It adds another level and I like your idea of ‘hearing’ someone in their posts 🙂
      Pam

Leave a Reply

