Graduation

http://free-extras.com/images/graduation_diploma-2098.htm

Last Friday saw graduation day at LIT Tipperary.  It’s a day I love in the college year because all you see are beaming smiles: from the graduates, their parents and their loved ones.  You know the blood, sweat and tears that go into getting that piece of parchment for so many.

For me it’s also a day when I think of my Dad.  I graduated with a B. Sc. in Applied Mathematics from the University of Limerick on the 14th of September 1990 and from the carry on of my Dad on the day you’d swear I was the only one graduating!!  Himself and my Mum were so proud that day.  Sadly he died before my M. Sc. graduation in November 2005 but my Mum was proud enough for them both.

I had decided not to go to my Masters graduation.  I started my Masters back in 1998 and completed the exams that followed until May 2000.  Rather than complete my thesis during the summer of 2000 I decided to put it off  for a few months as by then I had a 9 month old who was keeping me busy :-) This turned out to be a very bad decision because ultimately it took me until August 2005 to complete the thesis.  A move down the country, a new job and a new baby got in the way!  As a result I was the only one of my group to graduate when I did.  This coupled with the timing of the graduation ceremony led me to decide not to go.  When I told my Mum I wasn’t going she was so disappointed that I relented and I have to say I’m glad I did.  I would have regretted not going especially as it was such an important day for her.  This really was a case of mother knows best :-)

Neither of my parents got the opportunity to progress much past primary formal education so for them, and particularly for my Mum, it was very important that their children got a good education.  My mum made many sacrifices to ensure that I got the opportunity to go to college and to complete my studies so I have her to thank for where I am today.

Leave a Reply

